Third post : Third blog

I guess the comments on the default ‘Hello world!’ post are a bit of a giveaway that this is not my first blog. I have blogged from a few holidays to avoid messing about with postcards but, before that, I have been blogging behind the firewall in IBM since 17 May 2005, starting with an optimistic first post:

“…it’s unlikely I’ll have time for any more entries and even less chance any of them would be useful anyway!

Good luck to all the other new bloggers though.”

Well, it wasn’t the last post and I have learned a lot about blogging since then. If nothing else, it’s been useful for me to look back on where all the time went, which is a huge plus when you have a goldfish memory! It has also enabled me to connect to some amazing people inside IBM and beyond. Plus I hope at least one of the posts has been at least vaguely useful to someone as well! I know I have found huge value in reading other people’s blogs, from shared experiences, to things more technical.

The biggest lesson though is probably that, instead of believing I wouldn’t have time to blog, it actually saves me time. Instead of sending an email to a closed group of people, blogging allows anyone else who might need the information later to find it. Instead, of struggling to find someone to contact, I now have a much bigger network to annoy help me! Last, but not least, Andy is a walking encyclopedia!

And finally, a small disclaimer:

The postings on this site are my own and don’t necessarily represent IBM’s positions, strategies or opinions.

One thought on “Third post : Third blog

Leave a Reply

