Using Yahoo pipes on the Freeview OTA update schedule

Having a Sony Freeview box that has a tendency to lock up when the software update feature enabled means I should check the Engineering Channel Download Schedule every week. I don’t. Seems like an ideal exercise for my first play with Yahoo pipes!

My first impression of using pipes has been pretty good, although pulling out the right information from the source for a web page is a bit of a pain (don’t look too closely at the regular expressions!!) but that’s not Yahoo’s fault. (Maybe some more filters tailored to sorting out the wheat from the HTML chaff would be nice though.) I was also trying to use the last updated text on the site as the pubDate, but have so far failed to get that to work; I could get a separate feed of one item with a nicely formatted date in, but haven’t yet worked how to add that to each item in another feed.

Still, I did get something that looks like it works, although my guess is that I might need to tweak it over the next few weeks as new schedules come out. So, if you want to keep up with Freeview updates, or can suggest any improvements to my regular expressions, here’s the ‘Freeview OTA updates‘ pipe!

Update: found an example that could work for getting the date into the pipe. Also tinkering with a new pipe, which got off to a false start with a “failed to parse non HTML page” message for the Romanse real time traffic page. Luckily the BBC traffic site seems more cooperative.

Update: sorry about the small blockage in the Freeview pipe. I called dynarod out and it seems to be flowing nicely again now! (12 Feb 2008)

Leave a Reply

